OFFICIAL BOOK LAUNCH

DANIELLE BINKS
The Year the Maps Changed

TUESDAY 28 APRIL
6-8pm

VIRTUAL EVENT on 
YouTube Live

For event link, visit
Oz Authors Online


Given Farrells enjoys a cameo mention in the book itself, we were delighted when local author Danielle Binks asked us to launch her wonderful middle-grade debut, The Year the Maps Changed

We are disappointed to have to postpone the in store launch due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but are VERY excited to announce the extremely clever and talented Danielle has come up with a VIRTUAL launch instead!

Taking place at the original time and date – 6.30pm on Tuesday 28 April – on YouTube Live via the link above. Oz Authors Online is an initiative invented for these surreal times and aims to afford creatives new opportunities and direct support towards indie-bookshop such as Farrells. So please check out all the other great virtual author events they have planned.

The digital launch will feature a Q&A with Danielle and #LoveOzYA superstar author, Jenna Guillaume of What I Like About Me fame. Danielle and Jenna will be chatting about The Year the Maps Changed, the writing process, some behind-the-curtain details on the publishing industry, what’s getting us through social isolation, and no doubt focus heavily on the 1999-setting and a debate about the truly superior LipSmacker flavour! It won’t be quite the same as an in-store launch, but Danielle and Jenna will be working to make it as special and unique as they can.

For anyone who would like to pre-order a signed copy of The Year the Maps Changed, please call or email us to make arrangements!


The Year the Maps Changed
Danielle Binks

Release date: 28 April 2020

I was eleven when everything started and twelve by the end. But that’s another way maps lie, because it felt like the distance travelled was a whole lot further than that.

Sorrento, Victoria – 1999

Fred’s family is a mess. Her mother died when she was six and she’s been raised by her Pop and adoptive father, Luca, ever since. But now Pop’s had to go away; Luca’s girlfriend, Anika, and her son have moved in; and Fred’s just found out that Anika and Luca are having a baby of their own. More and more it feels like a land-grab for family and Fred is the one being left off the map.

Even as the world feels like it’s spinning out of control, a crisis from the other side of it comes crashing in. When 400 Kosovar-Albanian refugees arrive in the middle of the night to be housed on an isolated headland not far from Sorrento, their fate becomes intertwined with the lives of Fred and her family, as she navigates one extraordinary year that will change them all.

A middle-grade coming-of-age story inspired by true events about the bonds of family, the weight of grief and the power of compassion for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Wolf Hollow and The Thing About Jellyfish.

STAFF REVIEW BY ROMY:

This debut middle-grade novel, set on the Mornington Peninsula from local author Danielle Binks, is a beautiful read based on real events that tackles many difficult issues: from changing families and bodies, grief and community to friendship, geography and asylum seekers.  Given this book is packed full of rich topics I was worried it might be confusing and clunky – it’s not!  It’s a gorgeously authentic book.  You’ll fall in love with the prickly, sensitive, spunky protagonist, Fred (Winifred) – just make sure you have some tissues handy!