author event: gabrielle wang – 
australian children’s laureate 2022-23

saturday 20 august  ||  2.30 – 4pm

The Studio @ Peninsula Community Theatre
91 Wilsons Road, Mornington
Tickets $5

Bookings Essential
Suitable for children in Years 3-6 (8-12 years old)

We are delighted to kick off our 2022 Children’s Book Council of Australia Book Week celebrations with an afternoon with the current Australian Children’s Laureate, Gabrielle Wang. Hear about how she became an author and illustrator, her new book Zadia Ma and the Dog Who Chased the Moon, and participate in a creative session on how to draw your very own dragon!

This event is most suitable for children in Years 3-6 or 8-12 years old.

All children must have their own ticket. Accompanying parents are welcome to stay (standing room only).  
Teachers who wish to attend for professional development should book a ticket.

Books will be available for purchase on the day and Gabrielle will do a signing following her presentation and activity session.

about the book…

Release date: 6 July 2022

Zadie Ma and the Dog Who Chased the Moon

Zadie Ma has a special talent for telling stories . . . and it seems that some of Zadie’s stories come true. Zadie’s dearest wish is to have a dog of her own and so she starts to write the story of a poor unwanted dog called Jupiter, who’s just waiting to be rescued by a loving girl like Zadie.

One morning when she’s supposed to be minding the family shop for her mother, Zadie sets off to look for Jupiter. The scene that unfolds isn’t quite the same as in her story but she does find a real dog, and his name is Jupiter. Once Zadie has rescued him, she realises she can’t just take Jupiter home because her mother won’t let her keep a dog. Luckily her bold new friend Sparrow lets Zadie keep Jupiter at her house till Zadie can work things out.

But a series of unlucky events means that Zadie can’t write the happy ending she dreams of for her story, and now she may lose her beloved Jupiter forever.

Can Zadie’s most important story of all finally come true?

From one of Australia’s most esteemed and award-winning children’s authors and Australian Children’s Laureate for 2022–23 comes a heartwarming story set in postwar Melbourne about courage, friendship, the magic of stories and one girl’s unwavering love for her dog.

about the author

Gabrielle Wang is an author and illustrator, and the Australian Children’s Laureate for 2022 to 2023. Born in Melbourne of Chinese heritage, her maternal great-grandfather came to Victoria during the Gold Rush and her father was from Shanghai. Her stories are a blend of Chinese and Western culture with a touch of fantasy.

Gabrielle’s first children’s novel, The Garden of Empress Cassia, won the 2002 Aurealis Award, was shortlisted for the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards and was a CBCA Notable Book. The Pearl of Tiger Bay was shortlisted for the 2004 Aurealis Award and The Lion Drummer was a Notable Book in the 2009 CBCA Book of the Year Awards. A Ghost in My Suitcase won the 2009 Aurealis Award, was a CBC Notable Book, was shortlisted for the 2011 Sakura Medal and received a Highly Commended in the 2010 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. Her first young adult novel, Little Paradise also received a Highly Commended in the 2011 Prime Minister’s Awards. Gabrielle’s picture book The Race for the Chinese Zodiac (2010) illustrated by Sally Rippin and Regine Abos was a Notable Book in the CBCA Awards for 2011 and shortlisted for the 2011 YABBA and WAYBRA awards.

Gabrielle has created two popular characters Poppy and Pearlie for the highly successful 2011 Our Australian Girl series.
The Wishbird was a CBCA 2014 Notable Book and was shortlisted for the 2014 Australian Book Design Awards, Yabba Awards, Kroc Awards, Koala Awards, Cool Awards and Crystal Kite Award.
Gabrielle’s books also include the suspenseful The Beast of Hushing Wood for middle readers, and a sequel to the award-winning A Ghost in My Suitcase, called Ting Ting the Ghosthunter. Zadie Ma and the Dog Who Chased the Moon is her most recent novel.

You can read more about Gabrielle in her own words HERE.

what is an australian children’s laureate?

The Children’s Laureate is appointed on a biennial basis and must be an Australian author and/or illustrator of children’s and/or youth literature, who is making a significant contribution to the children’s literature canon of this country.

The role of the Australian Children’s Laureate is to promote the transformational power of reading, creativity and story in the lives of young Australians.

The Laureate also acts as a national and international ambassador for Australian children’s literature, speaking on behalf of all creators and the entire industry.

Our previous Laureates are:
• Ursula Dubosarsky (2020–2021)
• Morris Gleitzman (2018–2019)
• Leigh Hobbs (2016–2017)
• Jackie French (2014–15)
• Alison Lester and Boori Monty Pryor (2012–13)