The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands: Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024 by Sarah Brooks ISBN:9781399607544

The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to The Wastelands by Sarah Brooks

$35.00 Inc GST

A breathtaking historical fantasy set onboard the Great Trans-Siberian Express, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, The Night Circus and Jessie Burton – available to preorder now!

‘I urge everybody to pick up a copy’ STUART TURTON

‘Be warned – once you step into The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to the Wastelands, you’ll never want to disembark‘ SAMANTHA SHANNON

‘Wild and wonderful . . . completely captivating’ JENNIFER SAINT

‘Mysterious and clever and brilliant’ NATASHA PULLEY

It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.

It is the end of the nineteenth century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.

Nothing touches the Wastelands except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares.

Onto the platform steps a curious cast of characters: Marya, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Weiwei, a famous child born on the train; and Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist.

But there are whispers that the train isn’t safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel, the passengers and crew must survive their journey together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

The Great Trans-Siberian Express comes to life in a novel of wild imagination, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, The Night Circus and Jessie Burton


About the Author: Sarah Brooks won the Lucy Cavendish Prize in 2019. She works in East Asian Studies at the University of Leeds where she also helps run the Leeds Centre for New Chinese Writing. She has a PhD on monsters in classical Chinese ghost stories. She is also co-editor of Samovar, a bilingual online magazine for translated speculative fiction. Originally from Lancashire, she now lives in Leeds.

20 Jun 2024
 

Additional information

Format

Paperback / softback

Genre

Fantasy

Readership Level

General (US: Trade)

ISBN

9781399607544

Publication Date

20 Jun 2024

The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to The Wastelands: Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024 by Sarah Brooks ISBN 9781399607544

6 in stock

SKU: 9781399607544 Categories: , , ,