My Name is Eva: An absolutely gripping and emotional historical novel by Sue Stephenson ISBN:9780751581423

My Name is Eva by Sue Stephenson

$23.00 Inc GST

'Expect a tale of love, courage and being brave in the most dangerous of times' Woman's Way

You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise…

Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers. It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything. She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her…

When Evelyn's niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled 'Liese, 1951' and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as 'The Forbidden Village', where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband's life…

A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Cilka's Journey and The Child of Auschwitz will be hooked.

Readers are raving about My Name is Eva:

'Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !!…I absolutely loved this book !…I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathised all because of Evelyn…I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone, I thought you go girl !!I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read… I can't recommend this book enough!!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'What a magnificent read! Eva is amazing. One of the best characters in a book EVER! What a fantastic, beautiful, heart-wrenching tale, incredibly told. I absolutely loved every single page. I sat for the last 20% of the book in tears, sad but happy tears. An absolutely beautiful book' Kim the Bookworm, 5 stars

'A poignant and evocative story of love, betrayal and bravery that kept me page turning and completely engrossed from start to finish. Loved it and would definitely recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'A phenomenal story of courage, love, murder and all the atrocities that go with war. Eva is an extraordinary character, strong, loyal, smart, funny, loving, and brave.A phenomenal read!!' Goodreads Review

A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Cilka's Journey, Those Who Are Loved and The Child of Auschwitz will be hooked.


About the Author: Following an eventful career as a public relations consultant, specialising in business and travel, Suzanne Goldring turned to writing the kind of novels she likes to read, about the extraordinary lives of ordinary people. Her debut novel My Name Is Eva draws on her experience of volunteering in a care home and was partially inspired by a cache of wartime love letters which were saved from the flames. Her second novel, Burning Island, is set in Corfu, a place of fun and beauty but also tremendous tragedy.

Suzanne writes in her thatched cottage in Hampshire and a seaside cottage in Cornwall.

 

Additional information

Genre

Historical fiction

Readership Level

General (US: Trade)

ISBN

9780751581423

Date of Publication

10 Dec 2020

My Name is Eva: An absolutely gripping and emotional historical novel by Sue Stephenson ISBN 9780751581423

1 in stock

SKU: 9780751581423 Categories: , Tags: ,