Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm: Book 1 by Siobhan McDermott ISBN:9781444970142

Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm by Siobhan McDermott

$17.00 Inc GST

‘A soaring, luminous new world … An absolute delight!’ Jessica Townsend

An absolute feast for the senses!’ Nizrana Farook

An extraordinary destiny unfolds . . .

12-year-old Zhi Ging has always been an outcast. Until she receives an invitation to Hok Woh, an underwater school that offers her the chance to become immortal, and to finally belong.

There, she meets age-shifting immortals, battles in hair-raising boat races and competes in thrilling trials.

But there are rumours of a growing dark force . . . and students who fail the trials are disappearing. Can Zhi Ging uncover the truth before it’s too late?

The first in the unmissable magical fantasy series of 2024, set to take the world by storm. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor, Dragon Mountain and Amari and the Night Brothers.

A new magical fantasy series inspired by Chinese legend and set to take the world by storm – perfect for 9+ readers of Nevermoor, Dragon Mountain and Amari and the Night Brothers.


About the Author: Siobhan McDermott was born in Hong Kong and grew up on a steady stream of stories filled with Chinese legends and Irish folklore. She now lives in the UK and continues to order dim sum in Cantonese tinged with a distinctly Dublin lilt. She worked in publishing for six years, during which she took part in every event imaginable: from a ‘yoga with your dog’ session in a bookshop to running around Isle of Man in a full unicorn onesie. She is now the PR Lead at BBC Maestro. Paper Dragons is her debut novel and was inspired by moments across her life: from childhood ferry trips between Lantau Island and Hong Kong, to travelling around Taiwan, Italy and Spain.

15 Feb 2024
 

Additional information

Format

Paperback / softback

Genre

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Readership Level

Children / Juvenile

ISBN

9781444970142

Publication Date

15 Feb 2024

Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm: Book 1 by Siobhan McDermott ISBN 9781444970142

3 in stock