Shuggie Bain: Winner of the Booker Prize 2020 by Douglas Stuart ISBN:9781529019292

Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart

$20.00 Inc GST

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021
Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021

'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' – Observer

'We were bowled over by this first novel, which creates an amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of Frank McCourt, Edward St Aubyn and Hanya Yanagihara, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

A heart-wrenchingly moving first novel set in Glasgow during the Thatcher years, Shuggie Bain tells the story of a boy's doomed attempt to save his proud, alcoholic mother from her addiction.


About the Author: Douglas Stuart was born and raised in Glasgow. After graduating from the Royal College of Art, he moved to New York, where he began a career in design. Shuggie Bain is his debut novel. It has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, the Kirkus Prize and the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. It has also been longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction. His short stories have appeared in the New Yorker and his essay on Gender, Anxiety and Class was published by Lit Hub.

 

Additional information

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Readership Level

General (US: Trade)

ISBN

9781529019292

Date of Publication

15 Apr 2021

Shuggie Bain: Winner of the Booker Prize 2020 by Douglas Stuart ISBN 9781529019292

4 in stock

SKU: 9781529019292 Category: Tag: