Tidelines by Sarah Sasson ISBN:9781922848420

Tidelines by Sarah Sasson

$35.00 Inc GST

It’s Sydney in the early 2000s, and Grub is spending the summer with her universally adored older brother, Elijah, and his magnetic but troubled best friend, Zed. Their days are filled with surfing, swimming and hanging out; life couldn’t be better.

But years later, Elijah disappears and Grub’s family unravels. At first, Grub blames Zed: he was the one who derailed Elijah from a bright future in the arts. But as Grub looks back at those dreamy summer days, the sanctuary of her certainty crumbles. Was Zed really responsible for her brother’s disappearance? Was anyone?

Tidelines is a tender coming-of-age novel about growing up in the face of unimaginable loss. It examines the stories we subconsciously write for ourselves, and what remains later, when we have the courage to tear them apart.

A tender coming-of-age novel about the stories we subconsciously write for ourselves, and what remains later, when we have the courage to tear them apart – from an extraordinarily talented debut writer, Sarah Sasson. For fans of Jennifer Down, Tim Winton’s Breath and Favel Parrett’s Past the Shallows.


About the Author: Sarah Sasson is a physician-writer living on Gadigal land in Sydney. She has spent time living overseas in Chicago, Singapore, Montreal, Hanoi and Oxford. In Australia, the UK and the USA, her poetry, short-fiction and creative non-fiction have been published in Meanjin, Medium, Oncology Republic, Grieve Anthology, Unsweetened, Intersection Stories and Orris Root, among other places. In 2021 Sarah edited Signs of Life-an anthology (MoshPit Publishing), a collection themed around first- and second-hand experiences of mental and physical illness, and of caregiving. Tidelines was shortlisted for the 2020 Varuna House Publisher Introduction Program and longlisted for the 2020 Queensland Writers’ Centre Publishable Program under the title Some Things Beautiful. Sarah is currently living in Sydney with her husband and young children, and works as a clinician and scientist. When she is not writing, Sarah enjoys swimming, bushwalking, travel and spending time with family and friends.

30 Jan 2024
 

Additional information

Format

Paperback / softback

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781922848420

Publication Date

30 Jan 2024

Tidelines by Sarah Sasson ISBN 9781922848420

4 in stock

SKU: 9781922848420 Categories: ,