Sunshine on Vinegar Street by Karen Comer ISBN:9781761180132

author event: karen comer

saturday 19 august  ||  3 – 4.30pm

In store  |  FREE EVENT

Join us for our Children’s Book Council of Australia Book Week celebrations and the announcement of our Kids’ Story Writing Competition winners.

Karen will be our special guest author, talking to us about her career as a writer and in particular her passion for the verse novel format – showcased in her two wonderful books, Sunshine on Vinegar Street and Grace Notes. 

Karen will also help award prizes to our winning Story Competition entrants, followed by a book signing.

Sunshine on Vinegar Street

Available Now

Freya’s world is turned upside down when she and her mum move to inner-city Melbourne. Now she’s …

Stuck in a new apartment on the eleventh floor and Freya is afraid of lifts.


Stuck in a new basketball team where not everyone likes a killer new player.


Stuck in a classroom of kids who don’t know Freya is a donor-conceived baby.

Stuck, just like little Audrey in the Skipping Girl sign suspended in mid-air over the suburb of Abbotsford.

Being the new girl makes Freya feel like a dark cloud on a summer’s day. Can she figure out how to belong on Vinegar Street?

‘Very tender and also very funny – a tumbling collage of words and wonderings, fears and triumphs, where the child’s world is both the hard, real thing and the stuff of magic,’ URSULA DUBOSARSKY, Australian Children’s Laureate 2020-2021

A sweet and emotional novel about friendship, family and accepting change from a fresh new voice.

Grace Notes

Available now

This song has a grace note,

a tiny note that’s there for embellishment

but can easily be ignored,

not played.

Tonight, I add it in –

just because.

We can all do with an extra note

of grace.

 

Grace Dalfinch is a talented violinist who longs to play contemporary music in bars, but her mum forbids her.

James Crux is an aspiring street artist who promised his dad he wouldn’t paint in public until he’s finished school.

 

When Crux witnesses Grace’s impromptu performance on a deserted tram, he’s inspired to paint her and her violin; and when Grace stumbles across her portrait in a Melbourne alley by an anonymous street artist, she sets out to find its creator.

Grace Notes is a debut YA verse novel, set in one of the most locked-down cities in the world – Melbourne, 2020. For fans of Cath Crowley and Pip Harry.

Author photo credit: Sophie Timothy, Sister Scout

About the Author

Karen Comer is a writer and freelance editor. She’s represented by Danielle Binks at Jacinta di Mase Management. She teaches a ten-month online writing course and presents writing workshops to schools and holiday programs. Her work as a freelance editor includes fiction for adults and children, as well as personal development, memoir, health, wellbeing and general business books.

Karen’s young adult verse novel, Grace Notes, was published by Hachette in February 2023. She wrote this during Melbourne’s six lockdowns – nowhere to go, time to write!

Her middle-grade verse novel, Sunshine on Vinegar Street, will be published by Allen & Unwin in June 2023. This book took her thirteen years to write and metamorphosed from a picture book to a middle-grade prose novel to a middle-grade verse novel.

Karen hopes to introduce more readers to the lyrical wonders of verse novels.

She lives in Melbourne with her family.